A Rocky Start

I started this blog and then my tablet and cell phone both refused to cooperate with me using them to create posts. My laptop died more than a year ago, so my tablet and phone were all I had. Well, I have been told I need to get back to blogging, so I allowed Owen to talk me into buying a new laptop. I think he is also hoping I will take online classes. Something, anything, to get me out of the funk I have been in.

You see, a month and a half after I wrote my first post I had a stroke. Yes, that is right. I had a stroke at the age of 32. Nobody had any idea why because neither obesity nor Fibromyalgia cause strokes. I had not sustained any injuries recently that would have caused a clot large enough to cause a stroke. The doctors were stumped.

That bright white spot in the middle? That is where my stroke happened.

That bright white spot in the middle? That is where my stroke happened.

Then, about two weeks after I proved to them that I could eat without choking (my stroke affects the left side of my body and sometimes gives me issues with swallowing due to the fact that it is hard to swallow if only one side of your throat tries to do its job.) and that I could walk at least small distances, which got me home about 5 days after my stroke…. I lost consciousness at one of Aeddon’s baseball games. I was rushed to the hospital in an ambulance. Lucky for me, this stay was shorter due to the fact that I had not had a second stroke. I had instead had a Hemipeligic Migraine. It acts like a stroke at first, but with a migraine attached. 48 hours or so after you get the migraine under control the stroke symptoms subside and you feel relatively normal.

11647345_10152953769276546_1672215891_n

Another week or so after that I had another stroke-like episode. I was diagnosed with Complex Migraine Syndrome. It basically means I get several different types of migraines, most of which can be bad enough to send me to the hospital if I am not extremely careful.

Another week or so after my third hospitalization for the year I saw my Rheumatologist. While she and I were talking about how my stroke and CMS would affect my Fibromyalgia treatment she noticed something. For a few moments my leg turned a slightly purpley color and swelled a bit. Then the purpley color vanished along with the swelling, but I suddenly had petechiael bruising all over my leg from the knee down. All of a sudden she was extremely excited and (almost too) happily proclaimed that she knew what had caused all of my unexplained health problems in the last year. She had two new diagnosis for me, but the testing would take a long time (especially since my insurance doesn’t want to approve the tests.) before we could officially put them in my medical history. Lupus and Antiphospolipid Syndrome. Those two in combination with my Fibromyalgia explained everything odd that happened to me physically.

So now I wait for my insurance to stop being jerks. And I do my best to live my life while I wait. Here is some of what I have filled my life with in the mean time!

I made Plum jam.

I made Plum jam.

I keep taking the kids to the Aquarium of the Pacific. We have a membership and we all love it.

I keep taking the kids to the Aquarium of the Pacific. We have a membership and we all love it.

Owen took me to see Rent. Due to my frequent need to be in a wheelchair, we got upgraded seats. We went from nosebleed section to 10 rows from the front.

Owen took me to see Rent. Due to my frequent need to be in a wheelchair, we got upgraded seats. We went from nosebleed section to 10 rows from the front.

We went on a group camping trip that had a rocky start and ended up far from our original destination. Lake Nacimiento was an odd place to camp and I don't think we will return.

We went on a group camping trip that had a rocky start and ended up far from our original destination. Lake Nacimiento was an odd place to camp and I don’t think we will return.

Immediately after our group camping trip we went on a family camping trip to San Onofre State Beach. That was a magical trip and I am almost positive it will be repeated ASAP.

Immediately after our group camping trip we went on a family camping trip to San Onofre State Beach. That was a magical trip and I am almost positive it will be repeated ASAP.

We took the kids to the LA County Fair.

We took the kids to the LA County Fair.

We have also been doing our best to give Oliver "Adventures" while the kids are in school. This is his first year home alone with me every day.

We have also been doing our best to give Oliver “Adventures” while the kids are in school. This is his first year home alone with me every day.

Then there is the crafting. At first I didn’t want to try my crafts because I was worried that my stroke would have negatively impacted my ability to do all my different crafty things. Turns out it only effects how long I can craft at a time before I get tired.

Pretty exciting, right? So that is what I have going on, and it is why Owen pretty much insisted that I needed to get back to blogging. Even though I partially stopped because he used to tease me about it.

That is all I have for now. I am still unsure what my blogging schedule will be like, but I am hoping to post at least 3 times a week. We shall see how I do!

Leave a Reply

